Matériel

Tous les éléments qui composent votre BBC micro:bit

Un schémas de la conception du BBC micro:bit

Lumières

Que sont les lumières rouges à l'avant ?

Les lumières rouges sont des LED (light emitting diodes : diodes électroluminescentes) et forment une grille de 5 x 5. Elles peuvent être activées et désactivées, et la luminosité peut être contrôlée.

Elle correspond à quoi la lumière jaune à l'arrière de la micro:bit ?

C'est la LED d'état, elle clignote quand le système veut dire à l'utilisateur qu'il s'est passé quelque chose.

Boutons

A quoi servent les boutons ?

Les boutons A et B sont une interface d'entrée. Ils détectent quand le bouton est pressé. Quand tu presse l'un des boutons, cela ferme le circuit électrique. Le BBC micro:bit peut détecter l'état de ses deux boutons (préssé, non-préssé) l'un après l'autre ou les deux en même temps, ils peuvent être programmés pour effectuer une action ou envoyer l'information à un autre appareil.

Le bouton R au dos du BBC micro:bit est un bouton système. Il a différentes fonctions. Quand tu as téléchargé et lancé le code sur ton BBC micro:bit, appuie sur le bouton R pour redémarrer et relancer le programme depuis le début.

Quand tu branche le BBC micro:bit, il devrait monter comme un lecteur appelé MICROBIT. Si tu laisse accidentellement appuyé le bouton reset pendant que le BBC micro:bit est branché, il apparaitra comme un lecteur nommé MAINTENANCE au lieu de MICROBIT. On parle alors de mode maintenance**

Pour continuer de programmer ton BBC micro:bit TU DOIS débrancher puis rebrancher le câble USB. Vérifie alors que le lecteur s'appelle bien MICROBIT.

**A utiliser avec précaution. Si tu clique sur le lecteur pendant qu'il affiche MAINTENANCE, tu pourras voir quelle version du firmware est actuellement sur ton BBC micro:bit. Le firmware devrait normalement être à jour. Tu peut trouver la version du firmware dans le fichier 'version.txt' présent sur le BBC micro:bit. Tu peut trouver d'autres informations sur le firmware ici :

https://mbed.com/daplink

Boussole

Pourquoi y a-t-il une boussole sur le BBC micro : bit ?

La boussole permet de détecter les champs magnétiques tels que le champ magnétique terrestre. Comme le BBC micro:bit a cette boussole, il est possible de détecter sa direction et son mouvement en degrés. Ces données sont utilisables par le BBC micro:bit dans un programme ou peuvent être envoyées vers un autre appareil.

Accéléromètre

Pourquoi y a-t-il un accéléromètre sur le BBC micro:bit ?

Ton BBC micro:bit est équipé d'un accéléromètre qui détecte les changements de vitesse de l'appareil. Il converti des informations analogique en informations numériques qui peuvent être utilisés dans des programmes. L'unité de sortie est en milli-g. L'appareil détecte aussi un petit nombre d'action comme secouer, pencher et la chute libre.

BROCHES

Que sont ces ronds appelés 0,1,2 sur le bord inférieur du BBC micro:bit?

Ce sont les noms des broches d'entrée/sortie P0,P1,P2, que tu peut relier à des capteurs externes comme des thermomètres ou des détecteurs de moisissure. Les broches peuvent envoyer ou recevoir des informations. Tu peut en savoir plus à propos des grandes et des petites broches ici.

Comment connecter le BBC micro:bit à mon ordinateur ?

Le BBC micro:bit peut être connecté à ton ordinateur ou un appareil avec un câble micro USB. Cette liaison USB permet l'échange de données, avec ce câble les programmes peuvent donc être téléchargés sur Windows ou Mac OSX . Pour lancer des programmes tu peut en savoir plus ici et au sujet des messages d'erreurs ici.

Batteries

Comment alimenter mon BBC micro:bit ?

Quand ton BBC micro:bit est connecté à l'ordinateur avec le câble micro USB, il n'a pas besoin de source d'alimentation externe. Quand il n'est pas connecté à ton ordinateur, ta tablette ou ton smartphone tu auras besoin de deux piles AAA 1.5V pour l'alimenter.

3V GND

Que sont ces anneaux nommés 3V et GND?

Les broches appelées 3V et GND sont les broches d'alimentation. Tu peut connecter un appareil extérieur, un moteur par exemple, et l'alimenter par ses broches en utilisant la batterie ou le câble USB.

Bluetooth

Qu'est ce qu'une Antenne Bluetooth Basse Consommation (Bluetooth Low Energy - BLE)?

Tu pourra voir inscrit au dos du BBC micro:bit BLE ANTENNA. C'est pour le service de messagerie, construit sur l'internet des objets cela permet aux appareils de communiquer entre eux. Le BBC micro:bit est un périphérique qui peut parler a un appareil principal, comme un smartphone ou une tablette qui a la technologie Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE). Le BBC micro:bit peut envoyer et recevoir des signaux d'un appareil central, le micro:bit peut contrôler autant qu'être contrôlé par un autre appareil ayant le Bluetooth Low Energy.

Qu'est ce que le Bluetooth Basse Consommation (Bluetooth Low Energy - BLE)?

La technologie sans fil Bluetooth a été développée en tant qu'alternative au transferts de donnée par câble et permets la communication sans fil entre différents appareils comme des PC, smartphones et tablettes. Bluetooth® Smart ou Bluetooth Basse Consommation (Bluetooth Low Energy - BLE) est une déclinaison de la technologie Bluetooth initiale.

Qu'est ce l'internet des objets?

L'internet des objets (Internet of Things - IoT) a été créé il y a plus de 15 ans, lorsque l'hypothèse a été émise que les objets et les humains seraient capable de se connecter sans fil par le biais d'internet. Les objets peuvent être détectés et contrôlé à distance, permettant une meilleure interaction entre le monde physique et le monde numérique. Il te permettra de contrôler différents éléments de ta maison à distance comme ton alarme, un thermostat ou des lumières. Il à plusieurs fonctions dans différents domaines incluant la fabrication, la santé, l'électronique grand public et la maison.

Informations Techniques

Le BBC micro:bit a été conçu pour être un microcontrôleur utilisable par les enfants de 11-12 ans. C'est un système de développement ouvert et nous avons activés le debbugage pour que les utilisateurs avancés puissent aller aux les limites de l'appareil.

L'appareil a passé plusieurs test de sécurité et de conformité aux normes suivantes :

Sécurité

IEC 60950-1:2005 (Second Edition) + Am 1:2009 + Am 2:2013

EMC

EN 55032: 2012

EN 55024: 2010

EN 55022:2010

EN 301 489-1 V1.9.2 (2011-09)

EN 301 489-17 V2.2.1 (2012-09)

Radio Spectrum

ETSI EN 300 328 V1.9.1 (2015-02)

EN 62479:2010

This device complies with Part 15 of the FCC Rules. Operation is subject to the following two conditions: (1) this device may not cause harmful interference, and (2) this device must accept any interference received, including interference that may cause undesired operation.

Chemical

Restriction of Hazardous Substances (RoHS) 2011/65/EU Annex II article 4(1)

EN71-3:2013 + A1:2014 - Migration of certain elements.

Analysis of the 163 substances of very high concern (SVHC) on the Candidate List for authorization, concerning Regulation (EC) No. 1907/2006 as published on the European Chemicals Agency (ECHA) website.

Bluetooth 4.0 logo, CE mark, WEEE symbol

The BBC micro:bit device features Bluetooth Low Energy radio. The radio on the device operates in the following frequencies:

Frequency Range: 2402MHz to 2480MHz

Bluetooth Version: V4.0 Bluetooth Low Energy

EU Declaration of Conformity

The document can be downloaded by clicking here for the Declaration of Conformity

Hardware

All the bits and pieces that make up your BBC micro:bit

An anatomy diagram of the BBC micro:bit

Lights

What are the red lights on the front?

The red lights are LEDs (light emitting diodes) and form a 5 x 5 grid. They can be set to on/off and the brightness can be controlled.

What is the yellow light on the back of the micro:bit?

It is the status LED. It flashes yellow when the system wants to tell the user that something has happened.

Buttons

What are the buttons for?

Buttons A and B are a form of input. They detect when the button is being pressed. When you press one of the buttons, it completes an electrical circuit. The BBC micro:bit can detect either of its two buttons being pressed and un-pressed and be programmed to act on that or send the information to another device.

Button R on the back of the BBC micro:bit is a system button. It has different uses. When you have downloaded and run your code onto your BBC micro:bit, press Button R to restart and run your program from the beginning.

When you plug in your BBC micro:bit, it should appear as MICROBIT. If you accidentally hold down the reset button as you’re plugging in your BBC micro:bit, the BBC micro:bit will appear as a MAINTENANCE drive instead of MICROBIT. This is known as maintenance mode.**

To continue programming your BBC micro:bit YOU MUST unplug your USB and reconnect it. Check that the drive now shows as MICROBIT.

**Use with caution. If you click on the drive while it shows as MAINTENANCE, you can see which version of firmware you have running on your BBC micro:bit. Firmware on your micro:bit should be up-to-date already. You can find the version of firmware in the 'version.txt' file on the micro:bit. Further information on the firmware can be found here:

https://mbed.com/daplink

Compass

Why is there a compass on the BBC micro:bit?

The compass can detect magnetic fields such as the Earth’s magnetic field. As the BBC micro:bit has this compass, it is possible to detect the direction it is moving in. The BBC micro:bit can detect where it is facing and movement in degrees. This data can be used by the BBC micro:bit in a program or be sent to another device.

Accelerometer

Why is there an accelerometer on the BBC micro:bit?

There is a an accelerometer on your BBC micro:bit which detects changes in the micro:bit’s speed. It converts analogue information into digital form that can be used in BBC micro:bit programs. Output is in milli-g. The device will also detect a small number of standard actions e.g. shake, tilt and free-fall.

PINS

What are the rings labelled 0, 1, 2 on the bottom edge of the BBC micro:bit?

These are labels for the input/output pins P0, P1, P2, which you can attach external sensors to such as thermometers or moisture detectors. The pins can be a form of input or output. You can read more about large and small pins here.

How do I connect the BBC micro:bit to my computer?

It can be connected to your computer or device with a micro USB. Data can be sent and received between the BBC micro:bit and the computer so programs can be downloaded from Windows and Macs onto the micro:bit via this USB data connection. You can read more information on how to run scripts on your BBC micro:bit here, and about the error messages you might get here.

Batteries

How do I power my BBC micro:bit?

When your BBC micro:bit is connected to your computer with the micro USB, it doesn’t need another power source. When your BBC micro:bit isn’t connected to your computer, tablet or mobile, you will need 2 x AAA 1.5 V batteries to power it.

3V GND

What are the rings labelled 3V and GND?

The pins labelled 3V and GND are the power supply pins. You can attach an external device such as a motor to these and power it using the battery or USB.

Bluetooth

What is a Bluetooth Low Energy Antenna?

You will see this labelled BLE ANTENNA on the back of your BBC micro:bit. It is for a messaging service, built for the Internet of Things so that devices can talk to each other. The BBC micro:bit is a peripheral device which can talk to a central device like a smart phone or tablet that has Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE). The BBC micro:bit can send signals and receive signals from a central device so another BLE device can control the BBC micro:bit or the micro:bit can control another BLE device.

What is Bluetooth Low Energy?

Bluetooth wireless technology was developed as an alternative to data cables and allowed wireless communication between devices such as PCs, smartphones and tablets. Bluetooth® Smart or Bluetooth Low Energy is a power-friendly version of Bluetooth wireless technology.

What is the Internet of Things?

The Internet of Things (IoT) was first talked about more than 15 years ago, when it was speculated that objects and people would be able to connect wirelessly over the internet. Objects can be detected and controlled remotely, allowing greater integration between the physical and computer based world. It will let you to remotely control your alarm system, thermostat or lights in your home. It has many applications in different fields including manufacturing, health and fitness, consumer electronics and the home.

Technical Information

The BBC micro:bit has been designed to be a bare-board micro controller for use by children aged 11-12. It is an open development system and we have enabled debugging so that advanced users can interrogate the device.

The device has been through extensive safety and compliance testing to the following standards:

Safety

IEC 60950-1:2005 (Second Edition) + Am 1:2009 + Am 2:2013

EMC

EN 55032: 2012

EN 55024: 2010

EN 55022:2010

EN 301 489-1 V1.9.2 (2011-09)

EN 301 489-17 V2.2.1 (2012-09)

Radio Spectrum

ETSI EN 300 328 V1.9.1 (2015-02)

EN 62479:2010

Chemical

Restriction of Hazardous Substances (RoHS) 2011/65/EU Annex II article 4(1)

EN71-3:2013 + A1:2014 - Migration of certain elements.

Analysis of the 163 substances of very high concern (SVHC) on the Candidate List for authorization, concerning Regulation (EC) No. 1907/2006 as published on the European Chemicals Agency (ECHA) website.

Bluetooth 4.0 logo, CE mark, WEEE symbol

The BBC micro:bit device features Bluetooth Low Energy radio. The radio on the device operates in the following frequencies:

Frequency Range: 2402MHz to 2480MHz

Bluetooth Version: V4.0 Bluetooth Low Energy

Declaration of Conformity

The document can be downloaded by clicking here for the Declaration of Conformity